Prayers For Those Who Are Addicted

Let us pray, and take heart,

after all, “a prayer that we pray together is a powerful prayer”

…just as Fr. Joseph M. Wolf says beginning each EWTN Family Prayer,

even if we are praying at different times on different days!  

So, please, pray together with me…

Way quote. EWTN family prayer for addictedIrevised2“A clean heart create for me, God; renew within me a steadfast spirit. Restore to me the gladness of Your salvation; uphold me with a willing spirit. My sacrifice, O God, is a contrite spirit; a contrite, humbled heart, O God, You will not scorn.” [Psalm 51: 12, 14, 19]

“Lord, I believe, help my unbelief!” [Mark 9: 24]

“Probe me, God, know my heart; Try me, know my thoughts. See if there is a wicked path in me; Lead me along an ancient path.” [Psalm 139: 23-24]

“Surely, I wait for the Lord; Who bends down to me and hears my cry; Draws me up from the pit of destruction, out of the muddy clay; Sets my feet upon rock, steadies my steps, and puts a new song in my mouth, a hymn to our God… Blessed the man who sets his security in the Lord, who turns not to the arrogant or to those who stray after falsehood. You, yes You, O Lord, my God, have done many wondrous deeds!  And in Your plans for us there is none to equal You. Should I wish to declare or tell them, too many are they to recount.  I delight to do Your will, my God; Your law is in my inner being!  I do not conceal Your righteousness within my heart; I speak of Your loyalty and Your salvation.  I do not hide Your mercy or faithfulness from a great assembly. Lord, may You not withhold Your compassion from me; May Your mercy and Your faithfulness continually protect me. But evils surround me until they cannot be counted.  My sins overtake me, so that I can no longer see.  They are more numerous than the hairs of my head; my courage fails me.  Lord, graciously rescue me!  Come quickly to help me, Lord!  …The Lord is great. Though I am afflicted and poor, my Lord keeps me in mind.  YOU are my help and deliverer; my God, do not delay!” [Psalm 40: 2-6, 9,11-14, 17-18 ]

“God, grant me the Serenity to accept the things I cannot change, Courage to change the things I can, and the Wisdom to know the difference. Living one day at a time; Enjoying one moment at a time; Accepting hardship as the pathway to peace. Taking, as He did, this sinful world as it is, not as I would have it. Trusting that He will make all thing right if I surrender to His will; that I may be reasonably happy in this life, and supremely happy with Him forever in the next.  Amen.” [By Reinhold Neibuhr]

Way quote. EWTN family prayer for addicted.ExcerptI revised

15 Bible Verses on No Longer Being Slaves to our Sins and Addictions

For freedom Christ set us free; so stand firm and do not submit again to the yoke of slavery. For you were called for freedom, brothers. But do not use this freedom as an opportunity for the flesh; rather, serve one another through love. [Galatians 5: 1, 13]

 Jesus said: “If you remain in my word, you will truly be my disciples,and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” …“Amen, amen, I say to you, everyone who commits sin is a slave of sin.  A slave does not remain in a household forever, but a son always remains. So if a son frees you, then you will truly be free. [John 8: 31-32, 34-36]

 Think of what is above, not of what is on earth… Put to death, then, the parts of you that are earthly… Stop lying to one another, since you have taken off the old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed, for knowledge, in the image of its creator. [[Colossians 3: 2, 5, 9-10]

 You too must think of yourselves as [being] dead to sin and living for God in Christ Jesus.  Therefore, sin must not reign over your mortal bodies so that you obey their desires. And do not present the parts of your bodies to sin as weapons for wickedness, but present yourselves to God as raised from the dead to life and the parts of your bodies to God as weapons for righteousness.  [Romans 6: 11-13]

 Do you not know that if you present yourselves to someone as obedient slaves, you are slaves of the one you obey, either of sin, which leads to death, or of obedience, which leads to righteousness?  But thanks be to God that, although you were once slaves of sin, you have become obedient from the heart to the pattern of teaching to which you were entrusted.  Freed from sin, you have become slaves of righteousness.  I am speaking in human terms because of the weakness of your nature. For just as you presented the parts of your bodies as slaves to impurity and to lawlessness for lawlessness, so now present them as slaves to righteousness for sanctification. [Romans 6: 16-19]

 No servant can serve two masters. He will either hate one and love the other, or be devoted to one and despise the other. [Luke 16:13]

 For when you were slaves of sin, you were free from righteousness. But what profit did you get then from the things of which you are now ashamed? For the end of those things is death. But now that you have been freed from sin and have become slaves of God, the benefit that you have leads to sanctification, and its end is eternal life. For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord. [Romans 6: 20-23]

 Now if [I] do what I do not want, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me.  So, then, I discover the principle that when I want to do right, evil is at hand.  For I take delight in the law of God, in my inner self, but I see in my members another principle at war with the law of my mind, taking me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members.  Miserable one that I am! Who will deliver me from this mortal body?  Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord. [Romans 7: 20-25]

 For we ourselves were once foolish, disobedient, deluded, slaves to various desires and pleasures, living in malice and envy, hateful ourselves and hating one another. …But because of His mercy, He saved us through the bath of rebirth and renewal by the holy Spirit. [Titus 3: 3, 5]

 I say, then: live by the Spirit and you will certainly not gratify the desire of the flesh. For the flesh has desires against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh; these are opposed to each other, so that you may not do what you want. Now the works of the flesh are obvious… In contrast, the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, generosity, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control… Now those who belong to Christ [Jesus] have crucified their flesh with its passions and desires. If we live in the Spirit, let us also follow the Spirit. [Galatians 5: 16-17, 19, 22-23]

 At a time when you did not know God, you became slaves to things that by nature are not gods; but now that you have come to know God, or rather to be known by God, how can you turn back again to the weak and destitute elemental powers? Do you want to be slaves to them all over again? [Galatians 4: 8-9]

 For you did not receive a spirit of slavery to fall back into fear, but you received a spirit of adoption, through which we cry, “Abba, Father!” and if children, then heirs, heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ, if only we suffer with him so that we may also be glorified with him. I consider that the sufferings of this present time are as nothing compared with the glory to be revealed for us. [Romans 8: 15, 17, 18]

 Many will follow their licentious ways, and because of them the way of truth will be reviled. They promise them freedom, though they themselves are slaves of corruption, for a person is a slave of whatever overcomes him. What is expressed in the true proverb has happened to them, “The dog returns to its own vomit,” and “A bathed sow returns to wallowing in the mire.” [2Peter 2: 2, 19, 22]

 Come to Him, a living stone, rejected by human beings but chosen and precious in the sight of God, and, like living stones, let yourselves be built into a spiritual house to be a holy priesthood to offer spiritual sacrifices acceptable to God through Jesus Christ.  Be free, yet without using freedom as a pretext for evil, but as slaves of God. [1Peter 2: 4-5, 16]

 Whatever you do, do from the heart, as for the Lord and not for others, knowing that you will receive from the Lord the due payment of the inheritance; be slaves of the Lord Christ. [Colossians 3: 23-24]

A soul that loves Me very much must, ought to live by My will. I know your heart, and I know that it will not be satisfied by anything but My love alone.[Jesus’ words to St. Faustina, Diary, 1023.]

Here I am, Lord, I come to do Your will!

“I plead with you – never, ever give up on hope,

never doubt, never tire, and never become discouraged.

Be not afraid.”Pope Saint John Paul II

•••

Addiction is a persistent, compulsive dependence on a behavior or substance. The term has been partially replaced by the word dependence for substance abuse. Addiction has been extended, however, to include mood-altering behaviors or activities. Some researchers speak of two types of addictions: substance addictions (for example, alcoholism, drug abuse, and smoking); and process addictions (for example, gambling, spending, shopping, eating, [internet/social-media use], and sexual activity). –medical-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/addiction

Related Post: HOPE’s What We Crave”.

Leave a Reply

