Believe, Hope, Love… 3 in 1 !

God is with you. The Blessed Trinity dwells in your soul in grace…

Learn to have a special devotion to the Blessed Trinity:

I believe in God the Father, I believe in God the Son, I believe in God the Holy Spirit; I hope in God the Father, I hope in God the Son, I hope in God the Holy Spirit; I love God the Father, I love God the Son, I love God the Holy Spirit. I believe in, I hope in and I love the most Holy Trinity.” –St. Josemaría Escrivá [The Forge]

St. Josemaría goes on to say, “This devotion is much needed as a supernatural exercise for the soul, expressed by the movement of the heart, although not always in words.

Way quote. Trinity_I-Arise-Today-Through...StPat.

Oh, do say more, dear Saints, about our Triune God!

Each person [of the Trinity: Father, Son, Holy Spirit] considered in himself is entirely God. . . the three considered together. . . I have not even begun to think of unity when the Trinity bathes me in its splendor. I have not even begun to think of the Trinity when unity grasps me.” –St. Gregory of Nazianzus.

St. Augustine can explain it for us in this way:

Though human mind is not of the same nature as God, yet the image of him, than whom nothing is better, is to be sought and found in that part of our nature than which nothing is better: namely, the mind. See how the mind remembers itself, understands itself and loves itself. When we see this, we see a trinity; not God, but the image of God. There is a kind of trinity apparent in memory, understanding and love or will…  These three are one: a single life, a single mind, a single essence. 

“Although these three are distinct among themselves, we say they are one, because they exist substantially in the soul. The mind itself is, as it were, a parent; and its knowledge is, as it were, its offspring. When the mind knows itself, it begets an idea of itself, and it is the sole parent of that idea. The third thing is love, which proceeds from the mind itself and from its idea, as the mind knows itself and loves itself… It loves its beloved offspring, its idea of itself; so love is a kind of joining of parent and offspring. See in these words how there appears a certain ‘vestige’ of the Trinity.” –St. Augustine [On The Trinity].

The LORD our God is one LORD; and you shall love the LORD your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your might.  –Deuteronomy 6:4-5.

I knew more distinctly than ever before the Three Divine Persons, the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. But their being, their equality, and their majesty are one. My soul is in communion with these Three; but I do not know how to express this in words; yet my soul understands this well. Whoever is united to One of the Three Persons is thereby united to the whole Blessed Trinity, for this Oneness is indivisible.” –St. Faustina [472].

Once after Holy Communion, I heard these words: You are our dwelling place. At that moment I felt in my soul the presence of the Holy Trinity, the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. I felt that I was the Temple of God. I felt that I was a child of the Father. I cannot explain all this, but the Spirit understands this well.” –St. Faustina [Diary, 451].

Incarnate Word thou Word of God alone!

To live of love, ‘tis to abide with Thee.

Thou knowest I love Thee, Jesus Christ, my Own!

Thy SPIRIT’s fire of love enkindleth me.

By loving Thee, I draw the Father here

Down to my heart, to stay with me always.

Blest TRINITY! Thou art my prisoner dear,

Of love, to-day. –St. Thérèse of Lisieux.

Way quote. Trinity_I BELIEVE-I HOPE-I LOVE

Eternal TRINITY!  Blessed GOD!  God who gave such value to your Son’s blood, You are as deep as the sea.  The deeper I dive the more I discover, and the more I discover, the more I desire to find… The soul hungers for you, eternal Trinity… Eternal Trinity, you are my Creator, I am the work of your hands… The soul relaxes in you, eternal Trinity, as in a calm sea… Eternal Trinity, you have given me light… Thanks be to God. Amen.” –St. Catherine of Siena [from within The Dialogue].

Let us pray…

O my God, Trinity whom I adore, help me forget myself entirely so to establish myself in You… Grant my soul peace…”:

Way quote. Trinity_Prayer.PeaceofSoul.ElizabethOfTheTrinity

 O blessed light, O Trinity and first Unity!

“Trinity Sunday” [Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity] is celebrated each year on the 1st Sunday following Pentecost [being May 31 for 2015].  And Fr. John Paul Mary of EWTN provided a wonderful & inspiring homily that day, which concluded with the St. Josemaría Escrivá quote [noted both above & below] that I wanted to include here on The Way… for encouraging us all to, indeed, BELIEVE HOPELOVE!

The grace of the Lord Jesus Christ, and the love of God, and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit, be with you all.”  –2 Corinthians 13:13.

For: Questions and Answers on the Trinity[link to EWTN]

Way quote. Trinity_St JosemarieEscriva believe.hope.love II BELIEVE…

I HOPE…

I LOVE!

4 thoughts on “Believe, Hope, Love… 3 in 1 !

  1. Thanks, Eileen, for all the work you put in to find and share these saintly insights. The Holy Trinity is a truly inexhaustible mystery, and these words you give us point a very good way into the meaning of this most fundamental truth.

Leave a Reply

