Kicking STRESS to the Curb (III): By Way of ANGELS!

 Sky_visible+invisible_7.24.2014_VI

I believe

in one God,

maker of all things

visible and invisible

…including angels!

And you, too, can rest assured of the existence of these wonderful, spiritual beings—because it’s a truth of our wonderful faith [CCC, 328]... Angels of God who can help us [amongst the other everyday, practical approaches we must take]  in maintaining a healthy perspective on life & upon stress… so that we may be aided in this combat against a kind of stress which may otherwise paralyze or overtake us—as we learn to no longer try to control the uncontrollable (something which only leads to more stress & pervading misery!), as being discussed within our series here on stress.

Beside each believer stands an angel as protector and shepherd leading him to life.” St. Basil the Great

So why not call upon their watchful care and intercessionjust like our St. Thérèse of Lisieux did

Way quote. My Holy Guardian Angel_Thérèse

Oh, what a great help they can be! …guiding, guarding, serving, strengthening… even evangelizing!

Let’s take a closer look, then, at three of God’s Archangels, amongst His countless angels, who faithfully love what He loves; angels, therefore, who love us—and want to help us, here and now.

Gabriel (meaning “strength of God” / “man of God”) – the great messenger of the Word, who stands before God, sent to speak, to bring good tidings, and to encourage (to prove that nothing can be impossible with God!). The Patron of:  communication workers; broadcasting; messengers; childbirth; clergy; postal workers; public relations (+).

Raphael (meaning “God heals” / “divine healer”) – the great angel of healing, invoked in critical moments of life and for journeys. The Patron of:  blind; nurses; physicians; travelers. bodily ills; druggists; happy meetings; healers; health technicians; therapists; young people leaving home for the first time (+).

Michael (meaning “who is like God?!”) – the great protector, invoked for fighting against Satan; in rescuing of souls (especially at the hour of death); championing of Christians… The Patron against temptations; against powers of evil; and of: sailors/mariners; policemen; grocers; endangered children; dying/holy death; soldiers; battle; those in need of protection (+).

How great is our God and the solidarity among all creatures that arises from the fact that we all have the same Creator, and are all ordered to His glory!! [CCC, 344]

Be praised, my Lord!! [such a glorious view it was this day, overlooking church nearby, within "Mary's Garden"]

Be praised, my Lord!! [such a glorious view it was this day, overlooking church nearby, within “Mary’s Garden”]

Be praised, O Lord, in all Your creatures, especially brother sun, by whom You give us light for the day; he is beautiful, radiating great splendor, and offering us a symbol of You, the Most High… Be praised, my Lord, through brothers wind and air, and clouds and storms… through which You give Your creatures sustenance… Be praised, my Lord, for sister earth, our mother, who bears and feeds us, and produces the variety of fruits and dappled flowers and grasses.  Be praised, my Lord, through those who forgive for love of You; through those who endure sickness and trial.  Happy those who endure in peace, for by You, Most High, they will be crowned… Praise and bless my Lord, give thanks and serve Him in all humility.” [St. Francis of Assisi, from Canticle of the Creatures]

– – – – – – –

Subsequently, not only do individual lives benefit from the powerful & mysterious help of angels, the whole life of the Church benefits. [CCC, 334]

Surely, they can help us withstand [and triumph over!] the battles of this life… including kicking stress to the curb, as stress may come to do us harmin body, in mind, and in soul.  So let’s include them, as well, within our daily tactical plans!  But “how?”—you may ask… How do we even begin to talk to angels of God?  Well thankfully, when in doubt, there are many wonderful prayers we can use, provided to us through our Church’s liturgy, tradition, and Scripture (+other trustworthy writings), such as these 10 examples:

Sky_visible+invisible_7.24.2014_IPrayer to Guardian Angel (I):  “Angel of God, my guardian dear, to whom God’s love commits me here, ever this day be at my side, to light and guard, rule and guide. Amen.”

Prayer to Guardian Angel (II):  “O most faithful companion, appointed by God to be my guide and protector, and who are ever at my side, what thanks can I offer you for your faithfulness and love, and for all the benefits which you have conferred upon me? You watch over me in sleep; you console me when I am sad; you lift me up when I fall; you avert the dangers that threaten me; you prepare me for the future; you withdraw me from evil and excite me to good; you exhort me to penance when I yield to temptation; and reconcile me to my offended God… Leave me not, then, I implore you; but still comfort me in adversity, restrain me in prosperity, defend me in danger, assist me in temptations, lest at any time I fall a victim to them.  Offer to God my prayers and groanings, and all my religious exercises, and obtain for me the great gift of final perseverance, and the grace to die in the friendship of my Creator, and so to enter into life everlasting.  Amen.”

The Saint Michael Prayer“St. Michael the Archangel, defend us in battle.  Be our protection against the wickedness and snares of the Devil.  May God rebuke him, we humbly pray; and do thou, O Prince of the heavenly hosts, by the power of God, cast into hell Satan, and all the evil spirits, who prowl about the world seeking the ruin of souls.  Amen.”

The Chaplet of Saint Michael:  [a prayer in honor of the great Archangel Michael, along with all nine Choirs of Angels: the Seraphim, Cherubim, Thrones, Dominations, Powers, Virtues, Principalities, Archangels and Angels]

O God, come to my assistance. O Lord, make haste to help me. Glory be to the Father

“By the intercession of St. Michael and the celestial Choir of Archangels, may the Lord give us perseverance in faith and in all good works, in order that we gain the glory of Paradise. Amen

“By the intercession of St. Michael and the celestial Choir of Angels, may the Lord grant us to be protected by them in this mortal life and conducted hereafter into eternal glory. Amen

Pray for us, O glorious St. Michael, Prince of the Church of Jesus Christ, that we may be made worthy of His promises

[with complete chaplet available via EWTN ; as well as for viewing via YouTube.]

EWTN Family Prayer for the Help of the Angels: [Oh, I really love this prayer!…]

Way quote. Prayer for Angelic help_EWTN+Others like:

“Through the intercession of the Archangels, defend us, Lord, against every distress so that, unencumbered in body and soul, we may devote ourselves to Your service in freedom and in joy.  We make our prayer through Christ our Lord.  Amen.”

“I will thank you, Lord, with all my heart; in the presence of the angels, I will praise You.”

“Having been nourished with heavenly Bread, we beseech You humbly, O Lord, that drawing from a new strength under the faithful protection of Your angels, we may advance boldly along the way of salvation, through Christ, our Lord.  Amen.”

“O Lord, direct us by the ministry of angels into the way of salvation and peace; through Christ our Lord, we pray.  Amen.”

“My Holy Guardian Angel, cover me with your wing. With your fire light the road that I’m taking. Come direct my steps… help me, I call upon you; just for today.”  [St. Thérèse of Lisieux, My Song for Today] —every day.

– – – – – – – – – – – –

How can we resist such help as this?! …After-all, friends can often be the best kind of “medicine” of all—and, surely, heavenly friends can be part of the remedy, especially when it comes to the potential side-effects of stress. –Amen to that! 

…One more way for us to keep on kicking stress to the curb! 

PS: And speaking of angels (plus the saints quoted above), what a great week this has been for them!

September 29: Feast day of Sts. Michael, Gabriel, & Raphael

October 1: Feast day of St. Thérèse of Lisieux [Love her angel quote noted above!]

October 2: Feast day of our Guardian Angels

October 4: Feast day of St. Francis of Assisi [Love his Canticle of the Creatures, too!] 

♥!

©2014.–The Way to Nourish for Life.  Note:  For caveat, please seeAbout“. [Source of above images of church + views of sky = myself.  Btw, see any “angel”? 🙂 ]

Leave a Reply

