Lord, That I May Breathe

 Through You, with You, in You… All in All.

 

It’s there in the newborn cry, there in the light of every sunrise, there in the shadows of this life, Your great grace. It’s there on the mountain top, there in the everyday and the mundane, there in the sorrow and the dancing, Your great grace. Oh such grace.
From the creation to the cross; there from the cross into eternity, Your grace finds me; yes, Your grace finds me.
It’s there on a wedding day, there in the weeping by the graveside, there in the very breath we breathe, Your great grace.
The same for the rich and poor; the same for the saint and for the sinner; enough for this whole wide world, Your great grace. Oh such grace…
There in the darkest night of the soul, there in the sweetest songs of victory, Your grace finds me; yes, Your grace finds me. Your great grace; oh such grace… So I’m Breathing In Your Grace. And Breathing Out Your Praise.  I’m breathing in Your grace, forever I’ll be. …Your grace finds me. Yes, Your grace finds me.”–from Your Grace Finds Me lyrics by Jonas Myrin, Matt Redman.

Way quote. Grace is_IV“Everything is a grace, everything is the direct effect of our Father’s love – difficulties, contradictions, humiliations, all the soul’s miseries, her burdens, her needs – everything, because through them, she learns humility, realizes her weakness. Everything is a grace because everything is God’s gift. Whatever be the character of life or its unexpected events – to the heart that loves, all is well.”–St. Therese of Lisieux

Teach me, Divine Spirit, to know and seek my last end; grant me the holy fear of God; grant me true contrition and patience. Do not let me fall into sin. Give me an increase of faith, hope and charity, and bring forth in my soul all the virtues proper to my state in life. Make me a faithful disciple of Jesus and an obedient child of the Church. Give me efficacious grace sufficient to keep the Commandments and to receive the Sacraments worthily. Give me the four Cardinal Virtues, Your Seven Gifts, Your Twelve Fruits.  Raise me to perfection in the state of life to which You have called me and lead me through a happy death to everlasting life. I ask this through Christ our Lord, Amen. [EWTN: Holy Spirit Novena]

My grace is sufficient for you, for power is made perfect in weakness.” [2 Corinthians 12:9].  Therefore, we can be content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and constraints, for the sake of Christ; for when we are weak, then we are strong.

It’s there.  And now I can see it… Because, while on my journey—back towards Trust (away from fear)—encountering Hope once again,  it is grace I have come to recognize (finally) and to appreciate—thanks be to God… grace in all, my All in all!  Therefore, as I breathe in, and out, I pray

Way.my prayer.God of All_forGrace3

– – – – – – – – – – – – –

Blessings this Pentecost Sunday (June 8, 2014).  Lord, breathe!  EF

[For additional info on Pentecost, can see: “What is Pentecost? Why Does It Matter?article via Patheos]

2014.−The Way to Nourish for Life.   [Note:  Above prayer (“God of All…”) for grace–in everything–utilizes prayer pattern of that set within St. Patrick Breastplate ]

2 thoughts on “Lord, That I May Breathe

  1. Beautiful, EF! I’m copying the whole thing to have it in case I can’t find this post again (short-term memory loss; long-term tech-challenged).
    Yes, praying is designed to be as natural and vital to us as is breathing. St. Therese got it so right: a “simple” teaching, but so “difficult” to accept.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

