Kicking STRESS to the Curb! [Part I]

A few years back, STRESS payed me a visit (as it often will this side of heaven!).

But this time it was different.  This time, it showed up bigger & stronger; more relentless than ever before… making itself at home here.  So-much-so that my unwanted guest was no longer just a visitor, but a resident within my own heart.

And what a mess it made!

Maybe I could ignore it, though… Maybe I wouldn’t care.  After-all, stress is a natural by-product of life, right?  The offspring of Stressors.   Some of which are good… So good, they can save our livesequipping us to take immediate action, to fight, or to flee.  Others, however, are surely bad… So bad, they may come to rob us of our health and even more (much more).   So it’s crucial, therefore, for us to recognize those which aim to do us harm; and those which, over time, can develop into a matter of life & deathphysically, mentally, or spiritually—As these may come to threaten our wellness in body, mind, and soul.  Hence, we also must not underestimate the power of ongoing stress, which stays & lingers within us; because this type of stress can have us repeatedly responding to its ongoing “knocks”, where it no longer behaves like the visitor it’s meant to be—a visitor that will only call when truly needed [for immediate action or change].  But, instead, it comes to reside where it was never been meant to stay, which takes its toll on us (even down to our very cells!)… unless we take action.

Stress, in addition to being itself, was also the cause of itself, and the result of itself.” –Hans Selve

So I decided to make STRESS our “Focus of the Month” here, on The Way to Nourish for Life, especially since April is National Stress Awareness Month! …though I actually have another good reason, which will truly be my real focus in all of this.  Still, let us start by taking a look at the various types of damage (potential effects) we may need to address. plus proactively seek to avoid… Effects that can permeate any (or all) aspects of who we are, and who we are called to be.

Stress can Increase Risk for:

Elevated Heart Rate; Palpitations; High Blood Pressure; High Cholesterol; Heart Attack; Headaches; Nervousness; Fatigue; Irritability, Anger; Loss of Concentration; Memory Problems; Sleeping Problems; Anxiety; Depression; Despair; Social Withdrawal; Crisis of Faith; Nausea; Stomach Pain; Heartburn; Increased (or Decreased) Appetite; Unintentional Weight Changes; Abdominal Fat Deposition; Diarrhea; Constipation; Digestive Problems; Diabetes; Irregular/Painful Menstrual Periods; Impotence; Low Sperm Production, Reduced Sexual Desire; Skin Problems; Muscle Tension/Pain; Reduced Bone Density; Weakened Immune System; Inflammation; Infectious Disease; The Triggering (or Worsening) of certain Symptoms/Diseases; Harmful Coping Mechanisms/Dependence on Tobacco, Alcohol, Drugs

Such a mess, Stress can make for us, when it comes to dwell within our hearts.Way quote. Do-not-let-your-hearts be troubled Or afraid

And although the particular stress that I mentioned above (at the opening of my post) no longer resides with me [Thanks be to God]; I still, to this day, find traces & physical evidence of its unfortunate presence, which will still need cleaning-up after… Through Him, with Him, In Him.  For Him!

Therefore, since this topic can be so crucial to health & wellness of body/mind/soul (so near & dear to my heart), I thought it would be best to break it up into a few parts [posts], with much more to come, including my real reason.  …Plus then I didn’t have to stress out about writing so much at once about stress! 😉  Hope you will visit me, then, again soon.

PEACE I leave with you. My peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give it to you. Do not let your hearts be troubled or afraid GET UP, LET US GO. –Words of our Lord, Jesus (from John 14:27,31)Way_image.Peter-walks-on-water 2Now I know well the plans that the Lord has in mind for me are plans for my welfare and not for woe, so as to give me a future of hope! [see Jeremiah 29:11]

– – – – – – –

[Original source of above image of Jesus with Peter not known; Found at beliefnet]

©2014.–The Way to Nourish for Life.  Note:  For caveat, please see “About“.

3 thoughts on “Kicking STRESS to the Curb! [Part I]

  1. Yikes, Ei!
    All those effects of stress–can’t say I’ve had them all (e.g. menstrual issues), but I’ve surely gone back to the buffet table again and again! Though, like you, and also Thank God, I’m eating more sparingly of them lately. Maybe that’s another one of the “hundredfold” in THIS life the Lord speaks of when we follow Him.
    Eagerly–though not “stressedly”–awaiting your additional posts. (BTW, a zillion thanks for the Jeremiah quotation.)

Leave a Reply

