Deliverance 2014! Un-tied, Un-done…

Delivered… Because I’m truly Yours!

Thinking back, one year ago, January 2013, do you remember where you were in life; more-so, where you were in your prayer life?

Surprisingly I do!  But this is because it involved a very special series of prayers for me (a “novena”)

dedicated to Our Lady, Undoer of Knots.

So there I was, one year ago, on the 1st of January, Day 1, entrusting my very own ribbon, with all its messy knots, into the hands of our Blessed Mother.  And it just so happened at this same time, I was also reading Fr. Michael Gaitley’s “33 Days to Morning Glory” (so good!).   But what about these knots of mine? …Which one knot entangled my life the most?   It was a big one:  FEAR  [Oh, me of little Faith!]… A knot of knots that began to surface about 2 years prior, in 2010 (as the result of a series of problems that I couldn’t solve, nor escape).   So this, then, is how I began my 2013, choosing to focus on TRUST; which remained my primary focus through the year.  But as December arrived, my attention suddenly shifted in a new direction (new for me, that is)… to Hope!   Hope was all around, and I couldn’t help but notice it, like a new word to my eyes & my ears.

But I didn’t really intend on recalling my exact prayer life [novena] from one year ago at all.  Instead, it came back to me! …And for good reason, for me to see and to hear.  It started out on this New Year’s Day, now 2014, when I unexpectedly lost something that I rely upon every day (appropriately so).  And it was this sudden loss on Wednesday that led me to a much needed reflection – which somehow brought me back to where I began 1 year ago… Back to the Rosary – and to what I really needed every day.  And suddenly my eyes & my ears were open once again.  Yet I still didn’t recall, at first, that this day was the one-year anniversary of my entrustment to Our Lady, until later, thanks to an envelope that came in the mail sometime before Christmas.  It was a EWTN envelope (with their monthly newsletter inside), sitting in my “to-be-read-when-get-the-chance” stack of papers (quite a high stack come Christmas time!).  But there I was, suddenly opening this one (& only one) envelope, while still in the process of looking earnestly for what I had lost New Year’s Day; and there she was before me – Our Lady, Undoer of Knots – with the Rosary (as featured item on the back page of a newsletter that I had been ignoring)… Re-found! Un-lost! 

And the message came through loud & clear.  In wanting the ribbon of my life to be untied a year ago, delivered from a lack of trust and from the ways of this knotted-up world,  I must remain tied elsewhere, every day; committed to hearing the Voice of Truth, in place of all other voices (including my own!).  But apparently, I’m in need of help to do so; not just at the beginning of a new year or on an occasion here & there; nor merely after another knot is already forming.  Instead, it must be ongoing (…something I had forgotten about lately and, therefore, had “lost”).  Because what I really need, I now see.   My Hope.  My Help.  And I find it in the Most Holy Rosary of the Blessed Virgin Mary, [in addition to receiving the Sacraments, of course] so that the ribbon of my life will remain tied to Jesus, Himself! …to faith, and not fear! 

May I also, therefore, share with you a song that happens to relate very well to all of this for me (along with lyrics & more below)?  I just recently discovered it, a few days before Christmas, and it moved me very much…  After all, it’s a song that could very well have been my own prayer one year ago this week, even as part of my novena; and my plea to be un-done by the Undoer of Knots… For the deliverance from Fear to Faith; where we will find Hope!  

Taste & See the Goodness!

I Shall Not Want by Audrey Assad* from the 2013 release Fortunate Fall.  Lyrics:
From the love of my own comfort
From the fear of having nothing
From a life of worldly passions
Deliver me, O God
From the need to be understood
From the need to be accepted
From the fear of being lonely
Deliver me,  O God Deliver me, O God
And I shall not want, I shall not want
When I taste Your goodness I shall not want When I taste Your goodness I shall not want
From the fear of serving others
From the fear of death or trial
From the fear of humility
Deliver me, O God Deliver me O God
[*Written by Audrey Assad & Bryan Brown; © 2013 Audrey Assad Inc (BMI) / worshiptogether.com Songs (ASCAP) (adm. at CapitolCMGPublishing.com)]

And my prayer from New Year’s Day 2013, Day 1 of the Novena to Our Lady, Undoer of Knots was:

Dearest Holy Mother, Most Holy Mary, you undo the knots that suffocate your children, extend your merciful hands to me. I entrust to You today this knot….and all the negative consequences that it provokes in my life. I give you this knot that torments me and makes me unhappy and so impedes me from uniting myself to You and Your Son Jesus, my Savior.
I run to You, Mary, Undoer of Knots because I trust you and I know that you never despise a sinning child who comes to ask you for help. I believe that you can undo this knot because Jesus grants you everything. I believe that you want to undo this knot because you are my Mother. I believe that You will do this because you love me with eternal love.   – – – –

I must thank her, our dear Mother. Mary, Undoer of Knots, for her help… In the untying, undoing, and delivering, each & every day.

Thus faith comes from what is heard, and what is heard comes through the word of Christ. [Romans 10:17]

Lord, let me hear. 

Ephphatha!”

PS:  I first heard of this novena towards the end of 2012–thanks to a group of wonderful Awestruck friends.  How great it was to later learn that Pope Francis has a devotion to Our Lady, Undoer of Knots. as well!  No wonder he prescribed Misericordina“.  Surely, time to listen! 

Way Our Lady.Undoer of Knots II_1.2.2014

My Message in a Newsletter!

1/8/2014 Addendum:  Did you get to hear today’s Readings?  Amazing (!); and so fitting to the above post (1/5/2014 Deliverance…) that I just had to add a piece from them here: 

“There is no fear in love, but perfect love drives out fear because fear has to do with punishment, and so one who fears is not yet perfect in love.” [1John4]

“They… were terrified. But at once [Jesus] spoke with them, “Take courage, it is I, do not be afraid!” He got into the boat with them and the wind died down.” [Mark6]

[Source used: usccb.org/bible/]

CORAGGIO! [JPII]

©2014.–The Way to Nourish for Life:  Ideas expressed here are those of The Way to Nourish for Life RD. [EF]

Just for fun, this post is linked to Sunday Snippets–A Catholic Carnival

8 thoughts on “Deliverance 2014! Un-tied, Un-done…

  1. Thank you, Jess and T! Did you get to hear today’s Readings? Just perfect! …
    There is no fear in love, but perfect love drives out fear because fear has to do with punishment, and so one who fears is not yet perfect in love.
    [Yet] they… were terrified. But at once [Jesus] spoke with them, “Take courage, it is I, do not be afraid!” He got into the boat with them and the wind died down.
    [Smooth!] 🙂 ei.

  2. Hi Eileen,
    I found you through Awestruck and saw this post. I’ve been praying the Rosary everyday for a while now and it has really helped, but I too have a horrible problem with fear. I so often find myself saying the same thing “Oh, me of little faith.” I heard about the novena to Our Lady, Undoer of Knots a while ago and thought I’d give it a try, but it has since slipped my mind. After reading this post and seeing your experience with it I am definitely going to give it a try!
    Also, great song to include and she has such a beautiful voice.

Leave a Reply

