Hungry for Hope

Hope, O my soul, hope. You know neither the day nor the hour. Watch carefully, for everything passes quickly, even though your impatience makes doubtful what is certain, and turns a very short time into a long one. Dream that the more you struggle, the more you prove the love that you bear your God, and the more you will rejoice one day with your Beloved, in a happiness and rapture that can never end.” −St. Teresa of Avila [Excl.15:3*]

HOPE is the theological virtue by which we desire the kingdom of heaven and eternal life as our happiness, placing our trust in Christ’s promises and relying not on our own strength, but on the help of the grace of the Holy Spirit. [Catechism of the Catholic Church,1817*]

HUNGRY for HOPE

Let Us Pray…

Be strong and take heart, all who hope in the Lord (Psalm 31: 25).  We, who have taken refuge, might be strongly encouraged to hold fast to the hope that lies before us (Hebrews 6: 18).  [For] the Lord is my portion, I tell myself; therefore I will hope in Him (Lamentations 3: 24).  My soul longs for Your salvation, [Lord]; I put my hope in Your word.  You are my refuge and shield; in Your word I hope (Psalm 119: 81; 114).  Guide me in Your Truth and teach me; for You are God, my Savior, and my hope is in You all day long (Psalm 25: 5).  You are my hope, Lord; my trust… On You I have depended since birth from my mother’s womb; You are my strength; my hope in You never wavers.  I will always hope in You and add to all Your praise (Psalm 71: 5-6; 14).  [For] the eyes of the Lord are on those who fear Him; on those whose hope is in His unfailing love (Psalm 33: 18).  And now, Lord, for what do I wait?  You are my only hope (Psalm 39: 8).  [For thus says the Lord:] I know well the plans I have in mind for you… plans for your welfare and not for woe, so as to give you a future of hope (Jeremiah 29: 11).  [Then] why so downcast? Why all these sighs?  Hope in God!  I will praise Him still, my Savior, my God (Psalm 43: 5).  And hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit that has been given to us (Romans 5: 5).  So Faith, Hope, Love remain (1 Corinthians 13: 13).   Lord, fill me.  Amen.” –EF

2013.–The Way to Nourish for Life:  Ideas expressed within this post are those of The Way to Nourish for Life RD [EF].

*Source of St. Teresa quote and Hope definition:  vatican.va/archive/ccc_css/archive/catechism/p3s1c1a7.htm#1817

Leave a Reply

